Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

A novel charting the trials and tribulations between the families and inhabitants of Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights, told via an old maid, Elly Dean, who was intimate with both.

Having newly acquired a Kindle, I search for free books to download. Wuthering Heights was one of them. I was curious, so I downloaded it and started reading. I knew nothing about it.

The text was surprisingly accessible and the writing quite modern. I was half-expecting a romance, with ups and downs and generally being quite pleasant, but boy was I wrong. The characters are the most dysfunctional characters I’ve ever read. The most twisted up characters are Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw, and serve to provide much of the emotional pain to everyone around them. The efforts to keep Catherine Linton away from Wuthering Heights amounts to nothing, and Linton Heathcliff becomes more and more repulsive.

I liked the novel, I didn’t expect it to be like this. Having said that, it is a bit of an uncomfortable read, because of such dysfunctional subject matter.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

